Best VPN for Routers – The Optimal 4 VPN Providers

I signed up with a VPN provider on the same day I got my PS4 so that I could unlock geo-restricted streaming channels from abroad. I got a small scare when I realized that the VPN was not compatible with the console but was relieved to find out that I could set up a VPN on my router instead. Now, I have access to American TV while living overseas and my other devices are protected as well. This turned out better than I imagined. Read this review and pick the best VPN to install on your routers.

Get ExpressVPN

30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

Best VPN for Routers – A Quick Walkthrough

You might notice that a lot of the streaming platforms out there are not VPN compatible. So, the best way to establish a VPN connection on them is by installing the VPN client directly on your router. For that to be done, you must follow this guide. I should note that there are specific types of routers that support a VPN connection. But with the right know-how and firmware, you’ll get to do that on almost any router. It may sound daunting, but don’t you worry about that. All the details are included in the guide linked above.

Check out a list of VPN compatible routers below:

  • Asus
  • Belkin
  • Buffalo
  • Cisco
  • D-Link
  • TP-Link
  • Linksys
  • Mikrotik
  • Netgear

These routers won’t need you to install any additional software to be able to configure a VPN on them. What actually matters here is what VPN provider to use. So take a look at the table below to get a brief idea on what’s to come next in this review:

Editor's Choice Provider
Editor's Choice
RatingStatsVisit

1
Price
85
Security
95
Features
95
Speed
95
Support
90
Visit Now

2
Price
90
Security
95
Features
95
Speed
85
Support
90
Visit Now

3
Price
85
Security
90
Features
95
Speed
90
Support
90
Visit Now

4
Price
85
Security
90
Features
90
Speed
95
Support
90
Visit Now

The Top VPNs for Routers – The Basics

A Virtual Private Network is the best way to achieve total privacy on your connected devices. But would you think if I told you that there was a way to extend the benefits of your VPN subscription to as many devices as you want in your home? When you install a VPN on your router, any device that is connected to the WiFi will be protected. All you need to figure out is which VPN to use on your router. I went ahead and wrote this review to shed some light on the best VPN providers that can be installed and used on a router. Now, without further ado, this is the full review of the best VPNs for routers.

ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN

$8.32
9.2

Price

8.5/10

Security

9.5/10

Features

9.5/10

Speed

9.5/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Available on Almost Every Platform Imaginable
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Split Tunneling
  • Unmatched Server Network Coverage

Cons

  • Headquartered in British Virgin Islands
  • Above Average Price
  • Only 3 Simultaneous Connections

There are no restrictions on bandwidth and no browsing logs are kept. ExpressVPN brings high-security features and strong encryptions that will protect all the devices in your home once it is loaded on your router. With its own version of Smart DNS – called MediaStream – you can watch videos and stream your favorite series with blazing speeds as well. ExpressVPN offers tons of servers scattered around the world, which means that you’re guaranteed to unblock any geo-restricted channel from almost any country across the globe. And most importantly, this provider has a fantastic guide for setting up ExpressVPN on a DD-WRT router. But wait, there’s so much more, just keep reading…

  • More than 145 server locations in 94 countries.
  • Doesn’t keep logs.
  • MediaStream Smart DNS to unblock geo-restricted channels and watch anything abroad.
  • Protocols such as OpenVPN with TCP and UDP, SSTP, L2TP/IPsec, PPTP are supported, with AES 256-bit key encryption.
  • A Kill Switch.
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Connects 3 devices simultaneously.
  • Live chat support available anytime.
  • Unfortunately, this VPN doesn’t offer a free trial.
  • 30-day cash-back period in case the service fails to meet your needs.
  • Costs 12.95$ dollars a month, 9.99$ with a 6-months plan, and 8.32$ with a yearly plan.

IPVanish

IPVanish

$6.49
9.1

Price

9.0/10

Security

9.5/10

Features

9.5/10

Speed

8.5/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Allows for 10 Simultaneous Connections
  • Fancy Desktop UI

Cons

  • Based in the US
  • Crashed a Few Times
  • Support is Mediocre
  • Speed Tests Were Not Promising

This VPN is a must-have on your router. It uses military-grade encryption to keep your data secure and offers access to a bunch of servers located in over 60 countries. There’s a slight drawback here, it’s based in the US and it once reported submitted some info to the government that lead to a criminal being apprehended. However, you can unblock streaming channels with ease using this VPN, despite not having Smart DNS feature. You can see what I’m talking about when you check what it offers:

  • 1000+ servers across 60+ countries.
  • Zero traffic logs.
  • Socks5 web proxy.
  • Supports IKEv2, OpenVPN, and L2TP/IPsec VPN protocols.
  • 256-bit AES encryption.
  • Kill Switch.
  • 10 simultaneous devices.
  • Unlimited bandwidth.
  • 24/7 customer support.
  • 7-day money back policy.
  • 1 month for 10$, a 3-months subscription for 8.99$ a month, and a yearly package for 6.49$ a month.

NordVPN

NordVPN

$6.99
9

Price

8.5/10

Security

9.0/10

Features

9.5/10

Speed

9.0/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Huge network of servers
  • Plethora of security features
  • Minimal impact on speed
  • Very affordable prices
  • 6 simultaneous connections

Cons

  • Above average pricing
  • Crashed once during my testing

Nord VPN is the perfect provider for compatible routers. If you’re looking for extra protection for all the devices at home, this VPN can do that with a cherry on top. It provides DNS leak protection, a killswitch, and double encryption. Did I mention that it has 4000+ servers scattered across the globe? Well, it does and that’s awesome for fast speeds and unblocking streaming channels. Read on and find out more:

  • 4900+ servers in 62 different countries.
  • Zero logs policy.
  • Cybersec blocks websites that might infect your devices with spyware, malware, and other malicious software.
  • OpenVPN with both TCP and UDP ports, as well as IKEv2/IPsec.
  • Strong encryption algorithms and ciphers such as AES-256-CBC with a 2048-bit DH key.
  • Double VPN feature: double servers and double encryption to create an extra layer of privacy.
  • Smart DNS.
  • A Kill Switch if the connection is lost.
  • 6 connected devices at the same time.
  • 24/7 award-winning VPN support.
  • 30-day cash back.
  • 1 Month for 11.95$, 6 months for 9$ a month, and 1 year for 6.99$ a month.

BulletVPN

BulletVPN

$7.50
9

Price

8.5/10

Security

9.0/10

Features

9.0/10

Speed

9.5/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Available for MacOS, PC, Android, and iOS
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Kill Switch & Unlimited Server Connections
  • Free DNS Proxy
  • Servers Hosted in Top Tier Countries

Cons

  • Only 3 Simultaneous Connections
  • Above Average Price

You may seem very doubtful about using a VPN on a router, but once you flash and install BulletVPN on one, you’ll certainly know the difference. It’s quite easy and can be done following the baby steps within the guide I already provided. Once it’s installed, you’ll have an unlimited connection, guarded by superior security protocols, some of which aren’t found in the rest of the providers in our list. This VPN keeps no logs and has an incredible live support team ready to help you at any time for any inconvenience. You like it already? Read ahead.

  • Servers in 30 different countries.
  • Keeps no logs.
  • Smart DNS available.
  • Supports PPTP, L2TP, OpenVPN, IKEv1, and IKEv2 protocols.
  • A Kill Switch.
  • Unlimited bandwidth.
  • Connects 3 devices simultaneously.
  • 24/7 live chat support.
  • No free trials.
  • 30-day money back period if you don’t wish to continue.
  • $10.98 per month, 6 months for 9.16$ a month, and 1 year for 3.75$ a month.

Why is a VPN Needed for Routers – Main Reasons

Installing a VPN on a router is very simple if you follow the step by step guide I already provided. But is it worth the trouble? What benefits are we getting if we do that? Well, let me tell you that it’s going to simplify everything you do online from protection, streaming, and more. A VPN can play a major role in your online life, especially if it can be deployed on a ‘wide-scale’, such as installing it on a router.

Privacy and Security

We all know that using the internet carries a great risk of cyber crimes. Online traffic monitoring and cyber attacks are looming around every internet user waiting to pounce on any sensitive data. That’s why subscribing to a VPN service is desperately needed.

A VPN hides your IP address so that whenever you’re surfing the web, no one can monitor or follow you. Not to mention that a VPN will encrypt your online traffic so whatever send or received stays safe even if it is intercepted.

Bypass Geo-Restrictions

Ever heard of Apple TV? Well, if you have, you probably know that it’s one of the biggest streaming services ever made. But the channels available on Apple TV depend on where you reside. For example, if you live outside the US, channels like HBO Now, Hulu, and American Netflix won’t be available to you.

But once you establish that VPN connection,  your platform can take on IP addresses from different countries, which allows you to bypass geo-restrictions with ease and grants you the perfect streaming experience you were deprived of for a long time.

Platform Incompatibility

VPNs aren’t compatible with a lot of streaming platforms, including the PS4, Xbox One, Apple TV, and Chromecast. However, you can easily walk around this issue if a VPN has a Smart DNS feature within its services. Other than that, you can set your VPN on your router so that your device might get a VPN connection through you’re home’s Wi-Fi. With that, a device that doesn’t support VPN will get the privileges of a VPN. This way you can stream any blocked channel and secure your online data only by connecting to the now VPN protected Wi-Fi Network.

Wider Range of Service

One of the best advantages of having a VPN installed on your router is the range of service it offers. When looking for a provider, you immediately check how many devices can connect to a single subscription. But installing a VPN on a router protects all devices in your home. Now, whoever is connected to your wifi is perfectly secure, browsing the web with a masked IP address.

We already mentioned that gaming consoles are not VPN compatible, which is why it is paramount to install a VPN on your router, making sure that sensitive data lies in your PS4 or Xbox, i.e your credit card info, emails, and passwords cannot be compromised.

The Best VPN for Routers – Summing Up

A device with a VPN is a perfect combination to guard your data while online. But installing it on a router is a whole different level. You can confidently enter your house knowing that once you’re connected to your Wi-Fi, you’re already in the safe zone. The installation process is really simple. Just read the guide in the Walkthrough section of the article, select the best VPN for your router, and take your online experience to the next level.