Best VPN for Chromecast – The Finest Four VPN Providers

When I bought my Chromecast, I assumed that my streaming life would finally be perfect, but reality can be quite harsh sometimes. Most of the channels are geo-blocked in my region and I thought that there was nothing I could do about it. But after I did a small research I found the solution when I came across VPNs. Now that my problem is gone, I’m gonna help you solve yours with this review of the best VPN for Chromecast.

Get ExpressVPN

30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

Is Chromecast VPN Compatible?

Unfortunately, the Chromecast itself isn’t natively compatible with any VPN service provider. On the lucky side, you can kill two birds with one stone if you install a VPN on your router. Not only will your Chromecast reap the benefits of a VPN connection, but so will all devices connected to your WiFi network, literally spreading security all around the house. And it’s not a difficult process to go through, just follow this step by step guide to setting up a VPN connection on your router and you’re all good to go.

Now, if you can’t seem to get your head around using VPNs, then you could settle for setting up Smart DNS on your router, provided that your VPN provider offers a Smart DNS service. The only difference here is that when you use a VPN, your online traffic will be encrypted and protected, whereas with Smart DNS it won’t be. But your internet speed will not be affected by the latter and that’s a really good thing. A quick note before we begin, all the VPNs on our list today offer a Smart DNS feature excluding IPVanish. So read ahead to see what solution suits you best.

The Best VPN for Chromecast – Top 4

I took it upon myself to review four of the best VPN providers so that you won’t face the problems I went through when I first got my Chromecast. Quick note, you should never download a VPN that offers its services for free. For all we know it might be cybercriminals posing as a legitimate app; at best, it will reduce your internet speed dramatically. Now, without further ado, here is the full review of the best VPN service providers for Chromecast.

ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN

$8.32
9.2

Price

8.5/10

Security

9.5/10

Features

9.5/10

Speed

9.5/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Available on Almost Every Platform Imaginable
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Split Tunneling
  • Unmatched Server Network Coverage

Cons

  • Headquartered in British Virgin Islands
  • Above Average Price
  • Only 3 Simultaneous Connections

ExpressVPN is one of my top picks to use on Chromecast. Mainly because of its MediaStream feature that can be easily configured straight on your router. Not only that, but the provider also grants access to a huge number of servers distributed across the globe. This makes unblocking geo-restricted channels a piece of cake. It also brings high-security features, strong encryptions, and ciphers that ensure that you’re always safe while you practice your daily browsing activities. Check out what services this particular VPN offers in the list provided below:

  • More than 145 server locations in 94 countries.
  • Doesn’t keep logs.
  • MediaStream Smart DNS to unblock geo-restricted channels and watch anything abroad.
  • Protocols such as OpenVPN with TCP and UDP, SSTP, L2TP/IPsec, PPTP are supported, with AES 256-bit key encryption.
  • A Kill Switch.
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Connects 3 devices simultaneously.
  • Live chat support available anytime.
  • Unfortunately, this VPN doesn’t offer a free trial.
  • 30-day cash-back period in case the service fails to meet your needs.
  • Costs 12.95$ dollars a month, 9.99$ with a 6-months plan, and 8.32$ with a yearly plan.

IPVanish

IPVanish

$6.49
9.1

Price

9.0/10

Security

9.5/10

Features

9.5/10

Speed

8.5/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Allows for 10 Simultaneous Connections
  • Fancy Desktop UI

Cons

  • Based in the US
  • Crashed a Few Times
  • Support is Mediocre
  • Speed Tests Were Not Promising

Don’t let the fact that its HQ is in the US scare you. When a provider keeps no logs of your browsing activities, you’re all safe. That means that you can browse all you want without having to look over your shoulder. And with an impressive server network and security protocols, IPVanish is a serious VPN for any internet user. One more thing we need to talk about: IPVanish doesn’t have Smart DNS as a feature, so you have to settle for its VPN service on your router instead. Take a look at what it offers:

  • 1000+ servers across 60+ countries.
  • Zero traffic logs.
  • Socks5 web proxy.
  • Supports IKEv2, OpenVPN, and L2TP/IPsec VPN protocols.
  • 256-bit AES encryption.
  • Kill Switch.
  • 10 simultaneous devices.
  • Unlimited bandwidth.
  • 24/7 customer support.
  • 7-day money back policy.
  • 1 month for 10$, a 3-months subscription for 8.99$ a month, and a yearly package for 6.49$ a month.

NordVPN

NordVPN

$6.99
9

Price

8.5/10

Security

9.0/10

Features

9.5/10

Speed

9.0/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Huge network of servers
  • Plethora of security features
  • Minimal impact on speed
  • Very affordable prices
  • 6 simultaneous connections

Cons

  • Above average pricing
  • Crashed once during my testing

When you’re surfing the web, any data that you share online can land in the wrong hands. NordVPN encrypts your internet traffic so that you’re always safe while online. Websites can also infect your devices with malicious software, but with NordVPN’s Cybersec, that won’t be an issue anymore. And don’t get me started about its server network, I mean almost 5000 servers! That’s a very good offer if you’re using Chromecast. Check below to know more about this VPN:

  • 4900+ servers in 62 different countries.
  • Zero logs policy.
  • Cybersec blocks websites that might infect your devices with spyware, malware, and other malicious software.
  • OpenVPN with both TCP and UDP ports, as well as IKEv2/IPsec.
  • Strong encryption algorithms and ciphers such as AES-256-CBC with a 2048-bit DH key.
  • Double VPN feature: double servers and double encryption to create an extra layer of privacy.
  • A Kill Switch if the connection is lost.
  • 6 connected devices at the same time.
  • 24/7 award-winning VPN support.
  • 30-day cash back.
  • 1 Month for 11.95$, 6 months for 9$ a month, and 1 year for 6.99$ a month.

BulletVPN

BulletVPN

$7.50
9

Price

8.5/10

Security

9.0/10

Features

9.0/10

Speed

9.5/10

Support

9.0/10

Pros

  • Available for MacOS, PC, Android, and iOS
  • 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Kill Switch & Unlimited Server Connections
  • Free DNS Proxy
  • Servers Hosted in Top Tier Countries

Cons

  • Only 3 Simultaneous Connections
  • Above Average Price

Another perfect VPN for you is BulletVPN. It might not have the highest number of servers, but if you’re surfing the web and you want complete security and privacy, BulletVPN is the provider you’re looking for. They also have a dedicated live chat support team that is always available for any assistance. Check the full list of features and I’m sure you will fall in love with it:

  • Servers in 30 different countries.
  • Keeps no logs.
  • Smart DNS available.
  • Supports PPTP, L2TP, OpenVPN, IKEv1, and IKEv2 protocols.
  • A Kill Switch.
  • Unlimited bandwidth.
  • Connects 3 devices simultaneously.
  • 24/7 live chat support.
  • No free trials.
  • 30-day money back period if you don’t wish to continue.
  • $10.98 per month, 6 months for 9.16$ a month, and 1 year for 3.75$ a month.

Why is a VPN Needed for Chromecast?

From my experience using Chromecast, there are several obstacles that you’ll have to address before perfecting the experience. Geo-blocked channels not available in my country was one of them. Paying for subscriptions also worried me, I mean just the mere idea of sending my credit card info over the web gave me chills. Finally, there were sports games that I wasn’t able to watch using my Chromecast because of blackout restrictions. Nevertheless, when I got myself a VPN and got rid of all these issues easily.

Access Geo-Restricted Content

Chromecast grants you access to services such as Netflix, Hulu, BBC iPlayer, Amazon Prime Video, HBO Now and so many more. But the major setback here is that these channels are not available outside their original country. But with the help of a VPN, you can connect to servers in almost every country in the world and watch any channel you want.

For example, if you’re craving some BBC shows, all you need is a British IP address. Just connect to a UK server and the BBC iPlayer will be tricked into thinking that you currently reside within its borders. You will have complete access to its wide program library in no time.

Bypass Blackouts

If you’re a sports fan who likes to scream and shout at your TV screen (like me), the Chromecast is a must in your house. The streaming device brings you events and matches from the MLB, NFL, NHL, and even the NBA. How cool is that? Waiting for the catch right? Sadly, live matches on these channels can be subjected to blackout restrictions. Blackouts happen when a TV provider has the rights to broadcast a match on its TV channels in a certain area. That’s a very bad deal for people who stream their matches live online because the streaming channels will be banned from broadcasting that game in that area.

Luckily, with a VPN, you can bypass this ban with ease. All you have to do is find a place where your match isn’t being aired live on TV. Once you do that, connect to a server in that region and the event is yours for watching. Now you get to see your favorite teams wherever you are in the world without being subjected to blackouts.

The Best VPN for Chromecast – Parting Words

Trust me when I say this, you will not be sorry for getting a Chromecast. The best channels that you can ever dream of are available on this platform. But to achieve its full potential, a VPN must be used. Otherwise, you won’t be able to access many awesome channels. Go ahead, read the full review, pick your favorite VPN provider, and stream away.